Superfood Breakfast: Avocados and Anthocyanins

I don’t know about everyone else, but I find it really difficult to eat when I first wake up. It’s a cup of coffee for me, then off to the gym. It turns out I may actually be doing myself a favor. I recently read a study published in the Journal of Physiology in 2010 that suggests that training in a fasted state (i.e. not eating) can actually be more beneficial that working out on a full stomach. That being said, when I am done my workout, I am usually starving. I need a meal that is rich in muscle-building protein and packed with vitamins.

Today I tried something I have been seeing in the internet world lately: baked avocado egg. I liked the look of it because it reminds me of toad-in-a-hole, or egg-in-a-nest, or whatever-you-call-it… except less carb-y. Avocados are loaded with about 20 different vitamins and hunger-fighting fiber so you will be less tempted to snack during the next few hours.

2-DSC00738

I paired it with a fresh, seasonal salad of blueberries (see what else I did with them here), peaches, and purple basil that’s been growing in my planter. All three of these ingredients are packed with anthocyanins, pigments that are mostly found in blue and purple fruits and vegetables. I got to rant a little about them when I told you about my herb planter, but I am going to rant a little more. If you are not making an effort to include anthocyanins in your diet, you may want to give it a second thought. Anthocyanins are powerful antioxidants that promote cognitive function, good cardiovascular health, and remove free radicals from your body. Also most things with anthocyanins taste good. Dark chocolate, anyone?

1-DSC00742

And obviously bacon. Because I love it, as you can tell from this and this. So ok, I am not trying to say it is a superfood. But I have weakness. I am human. As a side note to all the Paleo people out there, you may want to swap that bacon for a pork chop. If you were under the delusion that bacon qualifies as a paleo food, let me just crush that dream for you. If you don’t believe me, go read this article by Dr. Loren Cordain, founder of the Paleo movement, on the un-Paleo qualities of bacon. Interesting stuff.

In case you are interested…

How to Bake an Avocado Egg

1. Half avocado and remove pit.

2. Scoop out about 2 tbsp. from each avocado to create room for the egg.

3. Crack egg into avocado, taking care not to let it spill over the sides.

4. Bake at 425 degrees for 15-20 minutes or until egg white had set.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

What do you usually eat after a workout? Share your favorite healthy recipes with me and I may feature them on the blog! Until next time, I hope it is cooler wherever you are than it has been here.

Kerry

Leave a Reply

